Welcome to the New Mexico State Parks Infomation Page
New Mexico State Parks Division

State Park Announcements


Bluewater Lake (505) 876-2391
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Bluewater Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Bluewater Lake State Park will be open 7 days a week with limited hours of operation. Those hours will be 8 am to 5 pm. Please plan accordingly as you make your overnight reservations and your day use plans. 10/1/2020 - 5/31/2021
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Bottomless Lake (575) 988-3638
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Bottomless Lakes State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Stage II Fire Restrictions: Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, or wood stove is prohibited. The use of devices fueled solely by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off is allowed. Such devices can only be used in an area that is barren or cleared of all overhead and surrounding flammable materials within three (3) feet of the device. Smoking is prohibited, except within an enclosed vehicle or building 10/1/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Brantley Lake (575) 457-2384
To minimize risk of spread of COVID-19: Visitors must abide by social distancing guidelines. No more than 5 people per group, maintain six-foot distance between people, no parking within ten feet of another vehicle. Visitors are strongly encouraged to carry their own sanitizing supplies and PPE. To manage for visitor overcrowding, parking spaces will be limited. The public is encouraged to visit parks near their homes to reduce traveling for the protection of local communities. 5/1/2020 - 12/31/2020
Brantley Lake State Park is open Saturday-Sunday, 7AM-5PM for day-use only. Overnight use and campgrounds will remain closed. Seven Rivers Day Use Area will be open. All other areas remain closed. 7/10/2020 - ongoing

Caballo Lake (575) 743-3942
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Caballo Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Cerrillos Hills (505) 474-0196
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Cimarron Canyon (575) 377-6271
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or visit the State Parks website. Please note, Black Jack and Ponderosa campgrounds and the park visitor center remain closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

City of Rocks (575) 536-2800
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
City of Rocks State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Clayton Lake & Dinosaur Trackways 575-374-8808
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or visit the State Parks website. Please note, the west side of the park and the park visitor center remain closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Conchas Lake 575-868-2270
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or visit the State Parks website. Please note, Bell Point Campground, Cove Comfort Station, and the park visitor center remain closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
New Mexico State Parks issued a “boil water advisory” for the Conchas Lake State Park water system. The water can be made safe by boiling it for at least five minutes at a rolling boil. Alternatively, bottled water can be used. Visitors will be notified when service is returned to normal and the water is again safe to drink. 10/13/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Coyote Creek 575-387-2328
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or visit the State Parks website. Please note, the comfort station and the park visitor center remain closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing
AIR QUALITY ADVISORY: Due to the Luna Fire burning north west of the park, Coyote Creek is experiencing poor air quality including heavy smoke and ash. Please be advised, visitors with respiratory issues may want to avoid the park until the fire is extinguished and air quality improves. 10/18/2020 - ongoing

Eagle Nest Lake (575) 377-1594
Boat docks will be removed from both boat ramps. 9/7/2020 - ongoing
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or log on to the State Parks website. Please note, Cieneguilla Day Use Area and the Visitor Center remain closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

El Vado Lake (575) 588-7247
El Vado State Park will re-open for day use only on May 30, 2020. The park will be open daily from 7:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. The Visitor Center will be closed. Overnight stays and camping are closed. Visitors must abide by social distancing guidelines. Masks will be required of everyone in public places, with exceptions for eating, drinking, exercising and medical requirements. Visitors are strongly encouraged to carry their own sanitizing supplies. 5/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Stage II Fire Restrictions - Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, or wood stove is prohibited. The use of devices fueled solely by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off is allowed. Such devices can only be used in an area that is barren or cleared of all overhead and surrounding flammable materials within three (3) feet of the device. Smoking is prohibited, except within an enclosed vehicle or building. 10/5/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Elephant Butte Lake (575) 744-5923
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Elephant Butte Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Fenton Lake (575) 829-3630
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Fenton Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Heron Lake (575) 588-7470
Access to the Rio Chama Trail Head staircase remains closed at this time for repairs. Visitors can access the trail by utilizing the BOR access road to the Chama River then to the suspension bridge. We will keep the public informed of any changes. Thank you for your patience ! 4/30/2018 - ongoing
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Heron Lake State Park is open daily from 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM. The Visitor Center is closed. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Heron Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Stage II Fire Restrictions: Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, or wood stove is prohibited. The use of devices fueled solely by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off is allowed. Such devices can only be used in an area that is barren or cleared of all overhead and surrounding flammable materials within three (3) feet of the device. Smoking is prohibited, except within an enclosed vehicle or building. 10/5/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Hyde Memorial 505-983-7175
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Hyde Memorial State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The Visitor Center, the Lodge, and the Yurts remain closed. 9/28/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Leasburg Dam 575-524-4068
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Leasburg Dam State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Living Desert 575-887-5516
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park is open Thursday through Sunday, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM 9/28/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Manzano Mountains (505) 469-7608
Wildland/Urban Interface and Hazardous Fuels Reduction is planned for Manzano Mountains State Park beginning early spring 2020 and will be completed fall 2020. 2/18/2020 - 10/31/2020
NOTICE: We are sorry, this park remains closed until further notice. Please check back as we are opening additional parks in stages. Thank you for your cooperation and understanding during this public health crisis. 5/1/2020 - 12/31/2020

Mesilla Valley Bosque (575) 523-4398
Mesilla Valley Bosque State Park will re-open for day use only on May 15, 2020. The park will be open daily from 7:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. The Visitor Center will be closed. Visitors must abide by social distancing guidelines. Masks will be required of everyone in public places, with exceptions for eating, drinking, exercising and medical requirements. Visitors are strongly encouraged to carry their own sanitizing supplies. 5/15/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Morphy Lake (575) 387-2328
NOTICE: We are sorry, this park remains closed until further notice. Please check back as we are opening additional parks in stages. Thank you for your cooperation and understanding during this public health crisis. 5/1/2020 - 12/31/2020

Navajo Lake (505) 632-2278
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Navajo Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Oasis (575) 356-5331
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Oasis State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Oliver Lee (575) 437-8284
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Oliver Lee Memorial State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Pancho Villa (575) 531-2711
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Pecos Canyon (505) 476-3355
Pecos Canyon State Park opened for day use only on June 1, 2020. Overnight stays and camping are closed. Visitors must abide by social distancing guidelines. Masks will be required of everyone in public places, Visitors are strongly encouraged to carry their own sanitizing supplies. 7/21/2020 - ongoing
Pecos Canyon State Park - Mora, Burt Clancy, Terrero and Jamie Koch areas are open Thursday – Sunday 8 AM – 5 PM for day use activity only. Gates for these areas are locked at 5 PM. No camping is allowed in the park at this time. Roadside day use fishing areas are open for day use hours only 6AM – 9PM daily. Open for New Mexico Residence Only. 9/21/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Percha Dam (575) 743-3942
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Percha Dam State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Rio Grande Nature Ctr. (505) 344-7240
The Rio Grande Nature Center State Park is currently open Thursday-Sunday from 8am to 5pm. The Visitor Center and Nature Shop remain closed. The west gate to the Open Space Bosque trails and river is open during Park hours. Face coverings are required. No groups larger than 10 people. Please practice social distancing. 9/9/2020 - 12/1/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Rockhound (575) 546-6182
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Rockhound State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Santa Rosa Lake (575) 472-3110
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Santa Rosa Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Storrie Lake (505) 425-7278
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Storrie Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Park gate opens at 7 AM and is locked at 5 PM. 9/30/2020 - 3/31/2021
The RV dump station is closed for COVID-19 precautions. 10/6/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Sugarite Canyon (575) 445-5607
As of 2/26/2016-The New Mexico Environment Department’s Drinking Water Bureau issued a “boil water advisory” for the Sugarite Canyon State Park water system. The water can be made safe by boiling it for at least five minutes at a rolling boil. Alternatively, bottled water can be used. Visitors will be notified when service is returned to normal and the water is again safe to drink. 5/5/2017 - ongoing
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or visit the State Parks website. Please note, Soda Pocket Campground, the comfort station, and the park Visitor Center remain closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Sumner Lake (575) 355-2541
The boat ramp and dock will be open at West Side Campground. Areas that remain closed are: River areas, East Side, Alamo, and Sandy Beach. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Sumner Lake State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Ute Lake (575) 487-2284
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
The park is open for day use from 6am-9pm daily. Camping is available for New Mexico Residents only by reservation only. To make a reservation, please call 1-877-664-7787 or visit the park website. Please note, Mine Canyon and South Side campgrounds, Zia campground, Roadrunner campground, Logan Park Campground, Eagle Point and Ute Creek Campgrounds, comfort stations, and the visitor center will be closed. 9/30/2020 - ongoing
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. • Keep groups to 5 people or less. • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. • No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Villanueva (575) 421-2957
• Only New Mexico residents may enter New Mexico State Parks. • Visitors must show either a valid New Mexico license plate, a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card, a New Mexico vehicle registration, a federal document attesting to residency, or a military ID to be admitted to a State Park. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Villanueva State Park will reopen for camping on October 1, 2020 for New Mexico residents only. Camping will be available by online reservation only. A valid New Mexico license plate will be required to complete your transaction. Please see Campsites Reservations section of this website. 9/28/2020 - 12/31/2020
Park gate hours are 7 AM - 7 PM 9/30/2020 - 3/31/2021
Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could receive a citation and $100 fine for not complying voluntarily. Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating. Keep groups to 5 people or less. Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment. No group shelter use or large organized events. 10/16/2020 - ongoing

Click to go back to top of page